What's the serpent about?

The Serpent is a British crime drama based on the crimes of a French serial killer of Indian and Vietnamese descent called Charles Sobhraj (played by Tahar Rahim). He robbed and murdered young tourists from 1975 to 1976, particularly young backpackers, travelling through Bangkok, Thailand.