Who sang the theme tune to only fools and horses?

John Sullivan wrote and performed the vocal theme to Only Fools & Horses. He wrote the series and wanted Chas & Dave to sing the theme tune but the BBC suggested he do it himself. The song was only used from the second series onwards. Series 1 had an instrumental theme by Ronnie Hazelhurst.