Why does fart stink?

A fart has gas swallowed, e.g. nitrogen & gas emitted by our digestion, e.g. methane. The large intestine adds hydrogen sulfide & ammonia. Gas before the colon is a belch that doesn't collect much smelly gas so less stink. A fart has all the gas, hence the scent.