What is five spice?

Five-spice powder is a seasoning blend of ground spices. In Chinese cuisine, it is most often used to flavour braised or roasted meat, fish, and poultry dishes, and may be included in marinades and rubs. A typical recipe includes Szechuan peppercorns, ground cloves, fennel, cinnamon, and star anise.