What is a sasperilla?

Sarsaparilla is a soft drink originally made from the vine, Smilax ornata, also called sarsaparilla, or other species of Smilax such as, Smilax officinalis. In most Southeast Asian countries, it is known by the common name sarsi, & the trademark Sarsae. It is similar in flavour to root beer.