How do you do a skin fade?

To achieve a skin fade haircut, start with the clippers on the shortest setting from the hairline to around an inch above the ears. Next, cut around a half inch above the first section with the clippers a setting higher. Repeat these steps up to the top of the head, blending any uneven areas.