How do you cook wine?

Boiling down wine concentrates the flavor, including acidity and sweetness. Be careful not to use too much wine as the flavor could overpower your dish. Wine should not be added to a dish just before serving. The wine should simmer with the food, or sauce, to enhance the flavor of the dish.