Who is smile by?

The song "smile" was first recorded with lyrics in 1954 by Nat King Cole. However it was based on an instrumental theme written by Charlie Chaplin for his 1936 movie "Modern Times". The song has since been recorded by various artists, as well as being featured in a number of movies and TV programs.