When are we going to colonize mars?

NASA is advancing many technologies to send astronauts to Mars as early as the 2030s. Mars itself is inhospitable to humans with no oxygen and temperatures around minus 50 degrees C. It will take between 7 to 9 months to get to Mars in a suitable spaceship.