What is the difference between ravioli and tortellini?

The difference between ravioli and tortellini is visual. Ravioli are usually square, with a flat underside and rounded top, with edges cut at a sharp angle and sometimes frilled with a fork. Tortellini are ring shaped, sometimes resembling a tiny croissant.