What's the philosophy of an unladen swallow?

"What Is the Airspeed Velocity of an Unladen Swallow?" is a quote from the 1975 film "Monty Python and the Holy Grail". The question is not answered in the film, but some researchers have suggested that it is around 25 miles per hour.