What is l. v. four twenty six?

In the film Alien, LV-426 is not named and is simply referred to as a "planetoid" or "ball". In Aliens, the name LV-426 is given at the inquest aboard Gateway Station and subsequently throughout the film. The novelization of the film additionally states that the moon is also known as Acheron.