What is tiny dancer about?

The meaning of the song "Tiny dancer" is summed up by its writer, Bernie Taupin. He says. “I was trying to capture the spirit of that time". He explained that the women of the time in 'Sunset Strip' were free spirits in and out of the shops, bars and restaurants of the time (1970).