Where does mad as a hatter come from?

The phrase itself is found in Lewis Carrolls' Alice in wonderland books. It is commonly believed to stem from the, now outmoded use of extremely toxic liquid mercury in the making of hats. Mercury if ingested can cause mood swings and disturbed thought.