What does it mean when you dream about drowning?

If you are the one drowning, the dream may mean that you are feeling overwhelmed by emotions. Water is often the element associated with emotion, so it makes sense that feeling as though we are literally underwater relates to intense emotions that feel threatening to our wellbeing.