What is y. in lowercase?

"Y", in lowercase means simply the smaller version of y. That is to say, Capital Y, may be used as the first letter of a name, as in the surname, "Young". Or lowercase y could be one of the letters in a word like, "try", where a small or lowercase letter y would be used.