Why do cars have four wheels?

Mainly for stability. The presence of a fourth wheel also allows the volume of the vehicle’s body to grow and accommodate more space. Increasing that number of wheels to five may have minor turning benefits in tight spots, but the benefit doesn’t nearly off-set the cost of engineering it.