What does it mean when a dog stares at you?

It depends on the stare. If it’s a dog you don’t know it’s probably a threatening jester but if it’s your pet, he or she might just want to keep watch on you however the stare will be softer in this case. Generally staring in dogs it considered threatening by other dogs.