What is the difference between baking powder and bicarbonate of soda?

Baking soda and baking powder both have sodium bicarbonate as the principal ingredient. The biggest difference between them is that one has an acid added to it, creating a chemical reaction when you add water. That reaction releases carbon dioxide gas into whatever you are making.