What do tortoises sound like?

Turtles create noises by expelling air from their lungs at varying intensities and speeds. Hissing is the most common turtle noise that people hear. Most turtle sounds are too low-pitched for the human ear. Some turtle noises are audible, but we don’t notice because they’re too quiet and short.