How do you get a bloodshot eye?

Red eyes usually are caused by allergy, eye fatigue, over-wearing contact lenses or common eye infections such as conjunctivitis. However, redness of the eye sometimes can signal a more serious eye condition or disease, such as uveitis or glaucoma.