What are the two types of chemical equations?

Chemical equations are usually defined by the nature of the reaction. These reactions could be Synthesis reactions. Two or more reactants combine to make 1 new product. Decomposition reactions. A single reactant breaks down to form 2 or more products. Replacement reactions or Combustion reactions.