Where does the sea come from?

The theory is, the ocean formed from the escape of water vapour and other gases from the molten rocks of the Earth to the atmosphere surrounding the cooling planet. After Earth's surface cooled to a temperature below the boiling point of water, rain began to fall and continued to fall for centuries.