What's a man gotta do?

A man gotta do, what a man gotta do! Background: According to America's Popular Proverbs and Sayings edited by Gregory Titelman (1996), this not particularly profound expression is attributed to a line spoken by John Wayne in the 1939 western Stagecoach.