What is hydrated silicone?

Hydrated silica is a form of silicon dioxide, which has a variable amount of water in the formula. When dissolved in water it is usually known as silicic acid. It is found in nature, as opal. It is also manufactured for use in toothpaste, various paints and varnishes and in the production of beer.