What ingredients do you need to make shepherd's pie?

Basic ingredients are; minced lamb, chopped onion, salt and pepper with mashed potatoes on top. You can however pad out the minced meat with extra chopped vegetables of your choice. This is a shepherds pie. A cottage pie has minced beef instead of the lamb.