What are grasses?

Grasses are arguably the most important plant species in existence. Grasses are technically known as Gramineae (or Poaceae) & are arguably the most important plant family in the world. Cultivated species of barley, maize (corn), millet, oats, rice, rye & wheat are the staple foodstuff of many people