How do atoms work?

An atom, has a nucleus, made of quarks, and gluons. One arrangement of quarks form a proton and another arrangement forms the neutron. The strong force keeps the quarks inside each neutron and proton. One or more electrons form the outer part of the atom, and their arrangement underlies chemistry