What does f. b. i. stand for in thunderbirds?

It’s not F. B. I. it is FAB. In the 60’s the buzz-word was “fabulous”. This was shortened to FAB and used simply as a call sign like ‘Roger’ or ‘Ten-Four’ to acknowledge received instructions.