What are the four humors?

In medieval medicine, a person was considered to have four humors. These are, blood, yellow bile, black bile and phlegm. Their proportion within a person determined their temperament. For example a phlegmatic person is laid back. Certain illnesses were thought to be an imbalance of the humors.