What are barrage balloons?

Barrage Balloons helped protect the UK Cities during World War 2. Airship shaped balloons held on by wire, which floated above the important buildings like Churches, hospitals. Bombs bounced off them, also if an enemy plane went too low the wire would cut straight through the wings of a plane.