Why do babies have dummies?

All mammals are born knowing how to suckle, how to get breast milk from the mother. When a child is feeding they are satiating their hunger, feeling safe and cared for, and also re-bonding with the mother. The dummy simulates the mother's nipple for the child, so they feel comforted when sucking it.