What's a nargle?

The Nargle was a magical creature that Luna Lovegood and Xenophilius Lovegood believe existed in Harry Potter, though many others believed them to be non-existent or to be extinct. It is unknown as to whether Luna ever did discover their existence or not in her years of globetrotting.