When was the japan tsunami?

A massive earthquake and tsunami occurred in northeastern Japan on March 11, 2011. The earthquake caused widespread damage on land and initiated a series of large tsunami waves that devastated many coastal areas of the country. The final death toll is thought to be almost 20,000