Why does britain want to leave the e. u.?

Britain voted to leave the EU in 2016 with a vote 52 to 48%. The arguments in favour of leaving included greater independence in terms of foreign policy, taxation and immigration. The UK contributed about £8 billion to the EU budget annually when several other States were net beneficiaries.