What is the test for chlorine gas?

The test for chlorine can use either type of litmus paper, but blue litmus paper is used most commonly. The litmus paper must be damp - the water dissolves some of the chlorine so that it can react with the indicator on the litmus paper. This test shows that chlorine is a powerful bleach.