What is sayers croft?

Sayers Croft is a large outdoor ‘learning camp’ located in the village of Ewhurst, Surrey. It is a 'Camp school' built by the National Camps Corporation in 1939 to provide fresh air and fun activities for inner city children and offer a refuge for civilian evacuees in the event of war breaking out.