What's the dangly thing at the back of your throat?

Your uvula -- the flesh that hangs in the back of your throat -- helps you swallow and speak. But you can run into problems if it's larger than normal. A swollen uvula can cause a sore throat, redness, trouble breathing or talking, or a choking feeling.