Why can't you eat raw bean sprouts?

The high risk of bacterial contamination makes eating raw sprouts unsuitable for some. Certain people, including children, the elderly, pregnant women and people with compromised immune systems should avoid eating uncooked or lightly cooked bean sprouts.