What is the toyota a. e. eighty six?

Toyota AE86s or Hachiroku (86) are ostensibly generic 80s Japanese cars. While this may have been broadly true when it was released, it’s since metamorphosed into something altogether more interesting, small, front-engine/rear-wheel-drive models fifth gen Corolla (E80) range marketed from 83 - 87.