What does it mean when your dog pees on you?

Submissive urination typically happens whenever a dog feels excited, shy, anxious, or scared. It also happens when a dog wants to acknowledge another's dominance — like recognizing you as their owner. Submissive urination is equally common in female and male dogs, especially if they're puppies.