What is the difference between turnip and swede?

A swede, or Swedish turnip is large, has a tough skin and is yellow orange when cooked. A turnip tends to be smaller, has a smoother skin and has a white fleshy appearance when cooked. Both swedes and turnips are from the same family of vegetables.