Who is larry in happy as larry?

This expression was first seen in print in 1875, by a New Zealand writer, G.L. Meredith. There are two main theories. First is that Larry is a famous Australian boxer named Larry Foley. Second is that Larry comes from larrikin, which was slang for a person who was a troublemaker.