Who is the current chess world champion?

Magnus Carlsen (Norway) is the reigning world champion, who will be defending his title. He is 29 years old and has held the title since 2013 when he defeated then world champion GM Viswanathan Anand of India. Carlsen is known as one of the biggest chess talents that ever lived.