What began is jerry and david's guide to the world wide web?

Yahoo Before it was a search engine, Yahoo started out as "Jerry and David's Guide to the World Wide Web" in 1994. It was essentially a list of websites organized by category that Yahoo founders Jerry Yang and David Filo put together in graduate school.