What do you call a belt hat?

A belt hat is a hat using a belt as the band. A wide brimmed hat (e.g. a cowboy hat) could have a simple band, or, say, a belt. The band around a hat can be of many different types including a 'belt'. The type of band does not name the hat, it is the style of hat that gives it the name.