How long did it take to design and build the world's first privately funded spacecraft spaceship one?

SpaceShipOne took around three years to develop, although ideas for the project may have been discussed since 1994. The development costs were privately raised and ran for about $25 million in 2003, which would be $35.5 million today (approximately £25.4 million or €29.3 million).