How do you know if pasta is ready?

I check by eating a piece, which is the only way to be sure of cooking it to your preferred texture. Dried pasta usually takes 8 to 10 minutes and fresh pasta just 2 or 3 minutes in a pan of boiling salted water. If you enjoy a softer texture, simply cook the pasta for another minute or two.