What happened to the pilot amy johnson?

Amy Johnson's Airspeed Oxford aeroplane mysteriously plunged into the icy-cold Thames estuary, near Herne Bay in Kent, in January 1941. The circumstances of her death, at the age of 37, caused a storm of controversy at the time, that still remains unexplained.