What does k. d. k. a. stand for?

KDKA is the channel identification, or call sign, for a radio station in Pittsburg. In the United States the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is responsible for issuing of channel identifications. There is an internationally defined format for call signs but they are not abbreviations.